Executives and non-executives

The quality of our workforce, senior leadership team and board leave us well placed to deliver on our strategic expectations and for long-term growth.

Board composition

 Executive directors

 Non-executive directors

 Senior independent director

Committee membership

N Nominations



  Committee chairman

John Dodds


Non-executive chairman

Independent: Yes

Appointed: 2010 (non-executive director) and 2011 (chairman) – not seeking re-appointment at the 2020 AGM

John retired in March 2010 from Kier Group plc, the construction and property services group, after serving for seven years as group chief executive. He worked for Kier, both in the UK and overseas, for nearly 40 years and held a main board position through the employee buy-out process in 1992 and the subsequent flotation of the group on the London Stock Exchange in 1996. John is a non-executive director of Newbury Racecourse plc.

Alan Dunsmore

Chief executive officer

Independent: No

Appointed: 2010

Alan was appointed chief executive officer in February 2018. Prior to this he held the position of Group finance director from March 2010 to March 2017 and acting chief executive officer from April 2017 to January 2018. He joined the Group from Smiths Group plc. He joined Smiths Group's medical division in 1995, holding various positions throughout the business and from 2004 was director of finance for Smiths Detection. Prior to joining Smiths, he was with Coopers and Lybrand in Glasgow, where he qualified as a chartered accountant in 1992.

Adam Semple

Group finance director

Independent: No

Appointed: 2018

Adam joined the Group in 2013 from Firth Rixson Group, prior to which he was with PwC in both Leeds and London, where he qualified as a chartered accountant in 2002. He was appointed as Group finance director in February 2018, having held the role on an acting basis since April 2017. He was previously the Group's financial controller.

Ian Cochrane

Chief operating officer

Independent: No

Appointed: 2013

Ian joined the Group in 2007, following the acquisition of Fisher Engineering. Ian worked at Fisher Engineering for 26 years, starting in the drawing office and progressing to managing director in October 2007. He previously held the position of Group operations director. Ian has a comprehensive understanding of all aspects of the business and has been involved in many major projects in the UK and Ireland, representing a range of market sectors.

Louise Hardy


Non-executive director

Independent: Yes

Appointed: September 2019

As an executive director, Louise was the European project excellence director at AECOM, and between 2006 and 2013, was a director at Laing O'Rourke, the largest privately owned construction company in the UK. At Laing O'Rourke she worked within the CLM consortium, the private sector delivery partner for the London 2012 Olympics. Prior to this Louise worked at Bechtel as a project director and worked for London Underground on the Jubilee Line extension project.

Louise is a non-executive director at Polypipe Group plc and Crest Nicholson Holdings plc. She is also a non-executive director at Ebbsfleet Development Corporation.

Derek Randall

Executive director and managing director at JSW Severfield Structures

Independent: No

Appointed: 2011

Derek previously held the position of executive director for business development until his appointment in December 2013 as managing director of JSW Severfield Structures Limited (JSSL), our joint venture in India. Before joining the Group, most of Derek's career was with Corus Group (now Tata Steel) where his last position was as commercial director of the long products division. Derek has held a number of international board positions with Corus and served on the executive council of the Steel Construction Institute.

Kevin Whiteman


Senior independent director

Independent: Yes

Appointed: 2014

A chartered engineer, Kevin was chief executive of Kelda Group and Yorkshire Water for a period of eight years. Kevin was non-executive chairman of both companies from 2010 to March 2015. In 2013 he became chairman of the privately owned NG Bailey and in January 2018 a non-executive director of Cadent Gas Limited and chair of their remuneration committee. Kevin was previously chief executive officer for the National Rivers Authority, regional director of the Environment Agency, and has held a number of senior positions within British Coal. He was also chairman for Wales and West Gas Networks (UK) Limited and has been a trustee for WaterAid UK.

Tony Osbaldiston


Non-executive director (chairman of the audit committee)

Independent: Yes

Appointed: 2014

A chartered accountant having qualified with PwC, Tony was previously finance director of Max Factor UK, Volvo Cars UK, Raymarine plc and FirstGroup plc. He was also deputy group chief executive officer and chief executive officer of FirstGroup America. Tony has been non-executive director and chairman of the audit committee of BSS Group plc, chairman of the remuneration committee of Synstor International plc and non-executive director and chairman of the audit and risk committee of the Serious Fraud Office. He is currently chairman of Encon, the insulation and building products distributor.

Alun Griffiths


Non-executive director (chairman of the remuneration committee)

Independent: Yes

Appointed: 2014

Alun was previously Group HR director and board member at WS Atkins plc, where he enjoyed a 28-year career, having held a number of business management and corporate positions. He is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development. Alun is also a non-executive director of the Port of London Authority, Anchor Trust and Ramboll Group.